Michael Giacchino returns to his Pixar roots

buzzing on his helmet

lightyear art Devin Elle Kurtz graces Mondo’s exclusive vinyl cover.
picture: Mondo/Pixar

When you think of big, adventure, sci-fi soundtracks these days, there’s one name at the top of the list: Michael Giacchino.In the past few months alone, the prolific Oscar-winning composer has Spider-Man: Nowhere to Go, Batman, Jurassic world dominationand the upcoming Thor: Love and Thunder. It’s totally crazy, especially when you realize it’s actually no it.In the meantime, he also did Pixar’s light years, will get an exclusive vinyl record from Mondo later this week. io9 is excited to be presenting this release exclusively.

“I really enjoy my job light years Isn’t it more than just a sci-fi movie —This is a sci-fi movie that exists in Andy’s world,” Giacchino said in a press release. “I felt the music needed to embody the love Andy felt the first time he watched Buzz on screen.The more I think about Andy watching this movie in the cinema, the more I realize light years Exactly the kind of movie I loved when I was a kid. So, I try to inject as much fun and childishness into the music as possible to honor the spirits of children – like me and Andy – seeing their favorite movie on the big screen for the first time. “

Obviously, you can hear that soundtrack in theaters now (you shouldalthough not many of you) or you can get this version from Mondo. This is a double LP by Devin Elle Kurtz, backing by Drew Taylor of The Wrap, pressed onto 2x 180g coloured vinyl.It costs $40 and will be available on Wednesday, June 22nd at mondoshop.com. This is the album cover.

full album cover

Vinyl by Mondo for Lightyear, by Devon Allie Kurtz
picture: Mondo/Pixar

This is the gate.

hum standing at sunset

Vinyl Folding Doors by Devin Elle Kurtz
picture: Mondo/Pixar

Finally, take a closer look at the disc itself.

white stripes like flying through space

LPs themselves
picture: Mondo/Pixar

Plus, it wouldn’t be Michael Giacchino’s score without a properly clever and funny track title. So here they are.

light years Graded track list

Disc One – Side A

1. Mission Log 2:22
2. Initial Greetings 3:23
3. Light Years 2:45
4. The best flight plans for space and humans 1:11
5. Blow on the lesson 1:50
6. Super Fail 0:55
7. Behind the Light Years 1:43
8. Mission Perpetual 2:41
9. The Lonely Space Ranger 2:26

Disc One – Side B

1. Afternoon Pleasure 4:42
2. The speed of light at the end of the tunnel 0:33
3. Relative success 0:41
4. Zurg Awakening 1:52
5. Run a surprise party 0:43
6. The Good Days of Immortality 2:36
7. Zurg’s Dissatisfaction 0:29
8. Space Dread 3:56
9. Zurg-onomics 1:59

Disc 2 – Side A

1. Oh, hover 2:55
2. Wrong at 1:31
3. Buzz, meet Zurg 1:34
4. Infinite Gone 4:12
5. Hawthorn by her side 0:56
6. The world’s worst self-destruct sequence 1:38
7. Time to eliminate fear 4:00
8. Hide yourself 1:19
9. Improv 0:49

Disc 2 – Side B

1. Back to the hum 3:10
2. Home On The Space Range 2:57
3. Infinite Motion 2:07
4. A suite of buzz 12:26

“With Michael, you know you’re in the hands of a professional, and honestly, it’s been a lot of fun working with him, and you can hear that fun in his music,” Lightyear producer Gayln Susman said. “The theme he creates has personality in itself. You hear that theme and you realize he really captured the essence of that character.”

Want more io9 news?See when you can expect the latest Miracle and star wars Release, what’s next DC Universe on Film and TVand everything you need to know Dragon House and The Lord of the Rings: Ring of Power.

Source link